The North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (NIRHA) assists low-income families, seniors, and individuals with diabilities across our eight county jurisdiction in northern Iowa. The NIRHA jurisdiction includes Cerro Gordo County (excluding the incorporated city limits of Mason City), Floyd County (excluding the incorporated city limits of Charles City), Franklin County, Hancock County, Kossuth County, Mitchell County (excluding the incorporated city limits of Riceville), Winnebago County, and Worth County.


    NIRHA offers two programs: the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) and Public Housing. All programs are handicap accessible. Requests for reasonable accommodation will be considered by our staff.


    Featured Links

    Programs Available How to Apply Rental Listings Contact us


    The NIRHA office is open the following hours:

    Monday-Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM


NIRHA Jurisdiction




Waiting Lists

Our Waiting Lists are currently open


How to apply

Mission Statement:

"The Mission of the North Iowa Regional
Housing Authority (NIRHA) is to assist
low-income families with decent, safe, and
affordable housing opportunites as theyHousing
strive to achieve self-sufficiency and
improve the quality of their lives. NIRHA
is committed to operating in an efficient,
ethical, and professional manner. NIRHA
will create and maintain partnerships with
its clients and appropriate community
agencies in order to accomplish this mission."